Home Logo

Are Bagels Dairy Free? Exploring Bagel Ingredients for Dairy-Sensitive Individuals

Do you avoid dairy products? If so, you probably wonder, “Are bagels dairy free?” or “Are bagels gluten free?

Well, typically, bagels are dairy-free as they contain no animal products. However, several brands of bagels are available nowadays that may use some ingredients like egg, honey, or dairy in making their bagels. No, that doesn’t mean you should avoid eating them completely. Major grocery stores and bagel brands offer a variety of dairy-free options that you can choose from.

Scroll down to learn if bagels are dairy-free, gluten-free, or vegan. As well as learn how to order bagels online.

Are Bagels Dairy Free?


Yeast, sugar, salt, water, and flour are typically used to make bagels. While no animal-derived ingredients exist in any bagels, some are flavored with dairy products.

You might be trying to avoid dairy products for various reasons, such as being vegan or having a dairy sensitivity.

Since food can have different names, it’s possible that dairy isn’t readily apparent in bagels. Don’t worry, though; most of the bagels served in large restaurant chains are dairy-free. Dairy products are present in only some of the bags of bagels and are frequently present in bagels without the customary toppings.

Watch out for ingredients that indicate the bagels are not dairy-free, such as cheese, yogurt, and cow’s milk.

Making your bagel at home gives you more control over what’s in it, so you can make sure it’s dairy-free. If this is feasible, you must read the label before making a purchase. Be cautious when consuming milk or any products derived from it, such as whey, lactose, and casein.

Potential Dairy Ingredients in Bagels


Knowing which ingredients are frequently used in bagel recipes can help you determine whether or not a bagel is dairy-free. You should be mindful of the possibility of dairy ingredients in foods like milk, cheese, cream, butter, and eggs.

Milk is frequently used to add richness and flavor to bagel dough. In order to get a softer texture, some recipes might also ask for the use of cream. But not every bagel recipe calls for milk or cream, so before you buy, make sure to look at the ingredient list.

Another dairy product that might be added to bagels is cheese. Cheese may be added to the dough or as a topping in certain recipes. That said, there are plenty of bagel options without cheese.

Sometimes, bagel dough is enhanced with the flavor and richness of butter. But plenty of dairy-free alternatives, like vegetable oil or margarine, can be utilized in its place.

Another item that’s frequently used in bagel recipes is egg. Eggs are frequently grouped with dairy products despite not being dairy products because they can trigger allergic reactions. Before consuming any bagels, thoroughly read the ingredient list if you have an egg allergy.

Overall, to find out if bagels are dairy-free, it’s crucial to carefully read the ingredient list before making a purchase. Plenty of dairy-free recipes are available, even though some might call for dairy ingredients.

(Almost) Dairy-Free Bagels

 

Dairy-Free Bagels
Source: thespruceeats.com

Since every baker has a different bagel recipe, we can only say that a particular bagel is always dairy free approximately 99 percent of the time. It’s best to ask your server, read the ingredients label, or look up nutrition information online. Now that we have cleared the air, these bagels are always free of dairy:

  • Plain
  • Onion
  • Everything
  • Garlic
  • Poppyseed
  • Sesame
  • Cinnamon Raisin
  • Blueberry
  • Whole Wheat
  • Whole Grain

Essential Elements of a Traditional Dairy-Free Bagel


Flour:
The main ingredient in your bagel is flour. Whether you like white, whole wheat, or gluten-free varieties, there is a flour to fit your dietary requirements.

Water: Yeast’s activating agent, water, aids in combining all the ingredients into a cohesive dough.

Yeast: A necessary component, yeast gives the dough its characteristic chewiness and rises when it comes to baking.

Sea salt: A tiny quantity is frequently added for flavor and to control the activity of the yeast during fermentation.

Optional Non-Dairy Sweeteners: Although sweeteners aren’t typically called for in traditional recipes, you can add sugar or maple syrup if you’d like it sweeter.

Bagels to Watch Out for


Mostly, other bagels typically have dairy in them because of the scrumptious toppings on them. Your spider senses are probably tingling for a good reason if they are.

Simply put, if you suspect a specific bagel has dairy, it is better to avoid having it. Therefore, reading the ingredients, asking your server, or looking up allergen information online is advisable. Generally speaking, even though they may seem delicious, you should avoid the following types of bagels:

  • Chocolate chip
  • Asiago
  • Parmesan
  • Cheesecake
  • Cinnamon sugar (with glazed topping)
  • French Toast

Options for Dairy Free Bagels


You’re in luck if you’re looking for bagel options without dairy! Many delicious options are available if you want to avoid dairy or are lactose intolerant.

Plain Bagels


Since most plain bagels are inherently dairy-free, they’re a fantastic choice for anyone trying to avoid dairy. Double-checking the ingredients is a good idea.

Hummus or Avocado Spreads


Hummus or avocado are excellent choices if you’re searching for a creamy spread to put on top of your bagel. Both are flavorful, nutrient-dense, and free of dairy. Add sliced vegetables, such as tomatoes or cucumbers, for an additional nutritional boost.

Nut Butters


Nut butters like peanut butter and almond butter are excellent options if you’re searching for something sweet and high in protein. They make a satisfying and substantial snack and are free of dairy.

Onion or Garlic Spreads


Spreads made with onions or garlic make a great savory option. They give your bagel a wonderful flavor and are free of dairy. Just ensure there isn’t any hidden dairy by carefully examining the ingredients.

Everything or Sesame Bagels


Sesame or everything bagels are excellent choices if you want more flavor. They are a great option for any meal because they are flavorful and dairy-free.

Sweet Bagels


Many dairy-free sweet treat options are available if you’re in the mood for something sweet. Blueberry or cinnamon-raisin bagels are excellent options; add nut butter or dairy-free cream cheese on top for an additional flavor boost.

Non-Dairy Cream Cheese


Some bagel shops carry dairy-free cream cheese, but not all do. If you’re searching for a creamy bagel topping, check out Einstein Bros and Bruegger’s Bagels, as they both have dairy-free cream cheese options.

There are lots of mouthwatering dairy-free bagel options available. Regardless of your preference for sweet or savory food, there is something for everyone. Just make sure there isn’t any hidden dairy by carefully examining the ingredients.

Non-Dairy Substitutes for Bagel Toppings


You might be wondering what to put on your bagel instead of cream cheese if you’re vegan or lactose intolerant. Fortunately, there are lots of mouthwatering dairy-free substitutes for you to try. Here are a few ideas:

Non-Dairy Cream Cheese


Dairy-free cream cheese made from soy, almonds, or coconut is now available in a number of companies. These substitutes frequently have the same creamy, tangy flavor as the original. Kite Hill, Daiya, and Tofutti are a few well-known brands. They are available online and at most health food stores.

Vegan Choices


Smashing an avocado and spreading it on your bagel is a great vegan option. Avocado adds a creamy texture and is high in beneficial fats. Another option is to try hummus, which is tahini and chickpeas combined. With its nutty, savory flavor and high protein content, hummus goes great with bagels.

Other Toppings


If you’re craving something sweet, try spreading peanut butter or almond butter on your bagel. These nut butter offer a rich, nutty flavor and are high in protein and good fats. For a fresh and fruity topping, you can also try sliced fruit like strawberries or bananas.

Craving for bagels and wondering where to order bagels online?” Head to Poppy Seeds Bagels and order your favorite bagel in a few taps!

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Do Bagels have Eggs in them?


Typically, eggs are not used in bagel dough. Egg bagels have a unique name because eggs are added to the mixture before baking! They frequently also have some sugar and food coloring added to them.

Do New York Bagels have Dairy?


“We are 100% vegan, so none of our bagels include any animal product, ” says the brand.  Check their website to view their bagels’ ingredients and nutrition information labels.

Are Bagels Dairy and Egg Free?


The ingredients for basic bagels are flour, water, yeast, sugar, salt, and occasionally vegetable shortening, so they are 99% vegan. However, some still contain non-vegan components like L-cysteine, eggs, milk, or honey.

Are Bagels Vegan?


Vegans can eat bagels when reduced to their most basic ingredients—flour, water, yeast, and salt. However, other non-vegan components in commercially made bagels frequently include dairy, honey, eggs, and less obvious animal products.

Read more: Are Bagels Vegan?

Are Bagels Healthy?


Fortunately, you can make room in your diet for bagels because their calories—when you omit the chocolate chips and sugary toppings—are healthy and nutritious. As is often the case, the most crucial factor is portion size. Choose smaller bagels and limit your intake to half.

Is it OK to eat a Bagel every day?


Most bagels come in slightly larger portions than three slices of bread. Having a bagel every morning is fine if you control your portion size. Consider having half a bagel one day and the other half the next,” suggests Pittsburgh-based culinary nutritionist Laura M. Ali, M.S., RDN.

Are Bagels OK for Weight Loss?


The small- to medium-sized bagels with whole-grain contents are the best for losing weight. Whole grain bagel options have more fiber and antioxidants than smaller bagels, and smaller bagels have fewer calories. Using half of a bagel as a serving size is another way to enjoy your favorite bagel while reducing your calorie intake.

Final Word


In conclusion, most bagels are safe for consumption by those with lactose intolerance or dairy allergies since they are dairy-free. However, if purchasing bagels from a bakery or restaurant, review the ingredients list and inquire about any possible cross-contamination.

Scroll to Top